My Favorite Winter Coats

Every year, winter pushes the mild temperatures of fall away and, once again, brings the cold and crisp air into our lives.  With these cool temperatures and the Christmas holiday on the mind comes along the insurgence of winter coats and jackets in our closets.  Even though we all know that we shouldn’t be buying new coats every year since they are supposed to last us through many winter seasons, it’s impossible not to resist the urge to hop onto the new coat trends floating across all of the pages in our fashion magazines.  Luckily, I haven’t gone too overboard with my coat purchases, as I can share clothes with my fashionable mother, but it hasn’t stopped me from making a long wish list of all of my favorite coat styles for this holiday season.  I’ve listed some of my favorite styles that are popular this winter as well as some of my own alterations to give these trends a unique yet fashionable twist. Enjoy!

1. The Puffer Coat:

Image

My modification:

  • Wear it long or even try it in a winter white

Image

Get it here

Image

Get it here

2. The Leather Jacket:

Image

My modification:

  • Try a colored leather

Image

Get it here

3. The Cape:

Image

My modification:

  • Get a patterned or plaid cape

Image

Get it here

4. The Peacoat:

Image

My modification:

  • add an unexpected pop of detail or color (ex: leather sleeves)

Image

Get it here

5. The Fur Coat:

Image

My modification:

  • tone it down with faux fur or as only fur trim

Image

Get it here

Image

 Get it here

6. The Sequined Jacket:

Image

My modification:

  • Keep it clean, fitted, and paired with simple and neutral accessories/clothes (the example above doesn’t need modification)

Image

Get it here

7. The Pastel Coat

Image

My modification:

  • Choose an icy pastel color

Image

Get it here

*pictures taken from: saksinthecity.tumblr.com, street-style-chic.tumblr.com, misszeit.tumblr.com, stylemath.com, rockpaperglam.com, data.whicdn.com, thebestfashionblog.com

Leave a Reply

