How to dress warm AND look good when living in a polar vortex…

While I was (for the first time) experiencing the wrath of the polar vortex yesterday morning, constant regrets kept flooding into my head about my poor wardrobe choice and preparedness for the FREEZING Georgia weather.  As I stood waiting in the windiest and coldest air I’ve experienced in quite a long time for the bus to take me to my warm car, I went over how many articles of clothing and protection that I neglected to put on that morning.  All I had on to face the 25-degree and windy morning air was my UGA sweatshirt, yoga pants, beanie, and Nike tennis shoes.  I was convinced that I would get home and realize that I had frostbite on every ounce of bare skin that the air touched.  Luckily, my inexperience with living in cold climates made the morning chill seem a bit more dramatic than it really was and nothing near the suffering that my poor northern counterparts were experiencing.

When I finally got home from class with an hour to eat lunch before my next class, I knew I had to make some MAJOR wardrobe changes if I was going to step outside again.  Now, I’d first off like to partly blame my inability to justify dressing up for class for my poor dressing choices that morning, which is where my “sporty/just as comfortable as my pajamas” ensemble came from.  As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I obviously love fashion and like to dress well, but class will always be at the top of my list of places that are much more bearable when in pajamas or workout clothes.  Aside from my theory of not dressing up for class, the rest of the blame for not dressing appropriately for the weather that morning goes on the UGA staff and their inability to take the freezing temperatures seriously.  They didn’t care that all of the nearby schools were closed due to FREEZING TEMPERATURES AND ICE, and therefore, I wasn’t prepared for either wintry conditions.  I have no shame in bundling up and walking around like the little brother from A Christmas Story, as long as I’m warm and can make the heavy layering look somewhat cute.  Therefore, when completely redressing before heading out to my next class, I made sure to check off all of my winter weather essentials: thick socks, fuzzy boots, beanie, gloves, scarf, warm leggings or pants, and three layers of shirts/coats on top.  Hint: when the temperature is below freezing, the idea of looking as slim as you can needs to be thrown out the window.  When I stepped outside for my next class, it was still freezing out but I was undoubtedly much warmer and more pleasant to be around for the rest of the day.  In order to make sure you will be more prepared than I was next time you step outside, whether it’s just chilly out or feels like Antarctica, I’ve gathered some outfit ideas to help you master the art of layering AND looking good while bundled up.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image  ImageImage Image

*ALL PHOTOS TAKEN FROM MY STYLE PINTEREST PAGE @ http://www.pinterest.com/chanelise/my-style/

Leave a Reply

