An Awesome Fall Ingredient To Bring Into The Kitchen

baked-spaghetti-squash-garlic-butter-4574

Now that it’s the season for fall ingredients to start hitting the grocery store shelves, I’ve been hitting up the local Whole Foods and Fresh Market for the best of the best. One of my favorite fall foods that I finally have the chance to bring into the kitchen again happens to be the elusive spaghetti squash and I’m pumped to start using it regularly. I’m still exploring my options when it comes to using this fancy veggie in meals because it’s a fairly new obsession, but I do have a few recipes under my belt that have been successful. I love this ingredient because not only is it a good replacement for regular spaghetti noodles when you need a health boost, but it also can be used in so many different ways! Even though it doesn’t taste completely like regular noodles, I find the squash to have a delicious and subtly sweet flavor that complements many flavors traditionally found in pasta-style dishes. Below are three spaghetti squash meals that I’ve tested and loved as well as another not-so-traditional recipe that I created today and surprisingly loved!

Spaghetti Squash Primavera

spaghetti squash primavera

Spaghetti Squash Chicken Pesto Pasta with Peas

Spaghetti Squash Chicken and Pesto with Peas-1

Parmesan Zucchini & Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts

14998462099_42a656a8ff_c

Today, I had leftover spaghetti squash noodles and pureed pumpkin in my fridge, so what else is there to do but create a new meal!  I felt pretty gutsy and mixed some ingredients that aren’t normally served together, but I was pleasantly surprised with the delicious outcome!  I urge you to try it out as well!

Pumpkin-Tomato Veggie Spaghetti Squash Pasta

IMG_5721

Ingredients: (serves 1)

1 tsp. minced garlic

1 tsp. olive oil

1 cup cooked spaghetti squash noodles

2/3 cup frozen peas

1 cup spinach

1/2 cup baby bella mushrooms

3 tablespoons pureed pumpkin

2-3 tablespoons tomato-basil or marinara pasta sauce

pinch of salt and pepper

sprinkle of parmesan cheese (or any other preferred cheese)

Steps: 

1. Heat olive oil and garlic on stove until sizzling.  Add washed and sliced mushrooms to pan and let them sauté for a few minutes on medium heat.

2. While sautéing mushrooms, defrost frozen peas in microwave until fairly warm.

3. Add spinach to pan of mushrooms and let it cook until wilted (about a minute).

4. Heat up spaghetti squash noodles in microwave until hot and then add the defrosted peas to pan.

5. Mix the pasta sauce with the pumpkin and add to the pan to coat the veggies.

6.  Continue heating veggies with sauce until mixture is hot.  When warm enough, pour the mixture into your bowl of hot noodles and mix together.

7.  Top with salt, pepper, and cheese.  Eat and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

