How NOT to Derail Your Diet on Halloween:

Halloween-candy-2-590x421

When Halloween rolls around every year, I usually throw aside all reservations about being healthy and eat my body weight in my favorite candies. However, I’m realizing that with each year of eating handfuls of candy comes less of a recovery to a normal healthy state for my stomach and skin. I’ve managed to put together the pieces and come to the sad conclusion that my body, as I’m getting older and my metabolism slows, isn’t as resistant to the evil effects of the candy that I yearn so much for on Halloween as it was 10 years ago. With this unfortunate knowledge, I’ve slowly been forcing myself to cut back on the candy I eat not only on Halloween, but also all year round. However, I’ve been lucky enough to find out that most of my favorite candies aren’t exactly the worst ones out there for me! So, in order to fulfill my chocolate cravings on Halloween while keeping track of what I’m REALLY eating for the sake of my skin and waistline, I make sure to limit the number of servings I eat AND allow myself a few indulgences in addition to my “healthier” candy choices. Right below, I’ve provided you with a list of some of the “healthiest” Halloween candies out there as well as what you would normally find in my candy bowl on the spooky holiday!

“Healthier” Halloween Candy Choices:

Hershey’s Miniatures: Special Dark (serving size: 5 pieces) – 200 calories, 13g fat, 7g saturated fat, 18g sugar, 3g protein

Raisinets, Snack Pack (serving size: 1 box) – 150 calories, 6g fat, 3.5g saturated fat, 22g sugar, 1g protein

3 Musketeers Minis (serving size: 7 pieces) – 170 calories, 5g fat, 3.5g sat fat, 27g sugar, 1g protein

Snack Size York Peppermint Patty (serving size: 1 piece) – 60 calories, .5g saturated fat, 11g sugar

Jolly Rancher (serving size: 3 pieces) – 70 calories, 0g fat, 11g sugar

What’s in my candy bowl?

candy bowl

3 Musketeers, Tootsie Rolls, Tootsie Pops, Hershey’s Special Dark, Mini Dark Chocolate Reeses Peanut Butter Cups, Raisinets, Mounds, Mike & Ikes

Now…who wants candy?!

Leave a Reply

