My New Love Affair With A Latte…

IMG_6063

So…last week, I went ahead and did what all other so-called “basic” girls do during the holiday season (and no, I didn’t Instagram a picture of me wearing Uggs and a North Face). I sped-walked through crowds of annoying holiday shoppers on my lunch break to Starbucks and ordered the new Chestnut Praline Latte. By the time I has this steamy new creation in my hands, I couldn’t have cared less about how stereotypical I may have looked to the rest of the Starbucks “regulars” who were judgmentally watching and sipping on their espresso shots. While I hate to admit that I’ve sometimes felt a little embarrassed by my love for everything Starbucks, including the seasonally flavored lattes, I’ve come to the point where I simply don’t care about what the anti-latte drinking community thinks. This newfound resolution of mine was only further supported after taking my first sip of the Chestnut Praline Latte.  To give you a hint, I liked it a latte. (Hehe, see what I did there?)

As the smooth and warming beverage filled my stomach, a million different feelings and thoughts came to mind. Even before getting a chance to taste the latte, the smell of the drink actually reminded me of chestnuts roasting over an open fire. Sounds crazy, right? Then, when it finally hit my tongue, the pleasantly nutty taste immediately woke up my senses. It was definitely sweet, but the nuttiness was stronger than I expected and it balanced out the sweetness perfectly for me. As I slowly sipped on the drink, it truly warmed my entire body, which felt nice since it was freezing cold outside. This drink was definitely filling and should be consumed as more of a nightcap rather than a morning pick-me-up, but nevertheless, I thoroughly enjoyed the drink. It made me feel like I should’ve been sitting by the fire in my childhood home, wrapped in a cozy blanket and listening to some relaxing music (think John Mayer or Coldplay). It’s ridiculous how many emotions that a drink like this can make one feel, but I guess it is part of the reason why these beverages are so popular.

If you still aren’t convinced that this drink is worth a taste, then you should know that the Chestnut Praline Latte tastes just like Christmas, and there’s nothing “basic” about that. Boom.

Leave a Reply

