Colorado Love

Ever since my first brief yet amazing experience of Colorado during my camping trip across the West (TCTW) years ago, I’ve held a special place in my heart for the beautiful state. However, my most recent trip to Colorado managed to exceed my already sky-high expectations. This past month, my family and I rented a BEAUTIFUL ski-in, ski-out home in the low-key town of Telluride, CO. Even though Telluride is more secluded and lesser known than its rival ski destinations, it actually turned out to be my favorite ski resort to date. With a huge mountain sprawled between the actual town of Telluride and its sister town, Mountain Village, visitors and residents of the area get to experience the charming character of both places by only a short yet beautiful gondola ride. Along with the picturesque mountain views from every angle and luxuriously rustic architecture, Telluride is also full of locals who are full of character and hospitality that is reflective of the typical Western, laid-back attitude. Everyone there seemed to have at least one dog, drive for adventure, and a whole lot of love for their town.

Last but not least, I must touch on the slopes and ski conditions in Telluride. Being able to walk out of our door and onto a wide and groomed slope was a treasure in itself; however, the slopes on Telluride Mountain were possibly the best I’ve been on. I still cannot believe how empty they were every day, basically giving us the slopes to ourselves to either practice our techniques or simply fly down without the worry of other riders getting in the way. The slopes were not only spacious, but also boasted some of the most ridiculous views I’ve ever seen. The week definitely flew by for me, but I am so grateful for the awesome vacation time spent with my loved ones. It was extremely hard to leave our cozy rustic home on the last day, but I’m happy to know that I WILL be returning to Colorado (and hopefully Telluride) before too long!

Take a look below at my photo diary for some awesome pictures from my trip in Telluride!

Warning: You may experience intense feelings of wanderlust…

Day 1-2:

IMG_6311

A gorgeous view flying into CO!

IMG_6519

IMG_6517

Our perfect and HUGE home for the next 5 days!

IMG_6331

A yummy dinner of Elk Bolognese and local brew at Smuggler’s Brew Pub in Telluride

IMG_6407

Breathtaking sight to wake up to on our first morning there!

IMG_6355

Ready to go out with my old but favorite Burton socks

IMG_6527

A great first day on the slopes!

IMG_6374

Warming up after a long and exciting day

Day 3-4:

IMG_6386

The next few days weren’t clear but we got plenty of fresh powder!

IMG_6520

IMG_6532

IMG_6533

The snow gave us the chance to explore Telluride during the day…

IMG_6534

…and feast on some delicious pizza at the famous Brown Dog Pizza for dinner!

Day 5:

IMG_6526

Woke up to the prettiest (and of course last) day of the week with fresh powder!

IMG_6528

IMG_6524

IMG_6531

IMG_6530

IMG_6523

Caught my dad and sister’s boyfriend on the lift above our house!

IMG_6525

Last run of the trip, saying goodbye to the beautiful views

Leave a Reply

