Lilly Is Back!

When I first heard that Lilly Pulitizer would be collaborating with Target on a new collection, I couldn’t help but think of the idea as one doomed from the start.  If you’re in your 20s and grew up in the south (yes, southern VA is the south) like me, you most likely were dressed in Lilly Pulitzer from head to toe as a child, and to me, the idea of dressing now like I did as a child just seemed ridiculous.

I vividly remember visiting the adorably decorated Lilly boutique that my mom would take my sister and I to every single time we vacationed at our beach house in Duck, North Carolina. We would go in the shop for hours and come out with bags full of new printed frocks and skirts for school- they were quite the trend for a while.  However, as I reached my teen years, Abercrombie and Fitch and Hollister naturally took the place of Lilly in my and many other girls’ closets. By the time I was in college, I’d pretty much forgotten about the brand and its signature tropical prints, but little did I know that there were still plenty of women, especially living in the south, who still swore by their Lilly Pulitzer collection!  Still, as it was no longer my style, I hadn’t given the brand much of a second thought until hearing about this collaboration with Target, which has previously been led by top brands such as Missoni and Phillip Lim.

In my opinion, this collaboration means that Lilly is ready for a comeback in the fashion industry, and after putting aside my preconceived opinions and browsing through their lookbook, I think that their strategy by teaming up with one of the country’s largest budget retailers will prove to be a good one. As today is the day that the collection finally goes on sale, we will soon realize how many of our consumers will not only like but actually buy into a Lilly Pulitzer comeback.

For those of you who are interested in the new 250-piece lifestyle collection between Lilly and Target, check out some of my favorite looks below or start shopping on the site now!!!

LillyPulitzerforTarget-Look2 LillyPulitzerforTarget-Look10 LillyPulitzerforTarget-Look8 LillyPulitzerforTarget-Look1_1

lookbook images via popsugar.com

Living Proof

Leave a Reply

