The Best Chocolate Chip Cookies I’ve Ever Made (AND Eaten)

IMG_7404

A few weeks ago, I was feeling especially gloomy and in desperate need of chocolate to make me feel better. I’d spent the morning browsing through various blogs, and stumbled upon a blog post titled “The Only Chocolate Chip Cookie I Will Ever Need to Know How to Make For The Rest of My Life”. In my chocolate desperation, I obviously had to read further. As I read on, I discovered that the recipe was pretty complicated, would require a trip to the grocery store, AND would take 48 hours to complete – seriously?! Initially, I was hoping for a quick fix to my gloominess, but these cookies looked especially DANK and I was desperate for a challenge.

An hour later, I found myself unloading bags of groceries and pulling out my handy (and must I say, awesome) Kitchen Aid mixer. I WAS READY. The first half of the recipe was definitely hard, as it required some pretty specific measuring, mixing, and good timing. When I finally finished the dough, my kitchen was a mess of flour, butter wrappers, eggshells, and chocolate chips in every crevice and corner. But mess or no mess, I was pumped that I’d successfully made some cookie dough that not only looked perfect but also tasted AMAZING. Yes, I definitely let myself take a few “test” bites before forcing myself to put the dough in the fridge.

Now, I said that the first part of the recipe was tough, but the hardest part of the whole experience was waiting for the dough to chill for 48 hours…without eating it all. I was pretty strong over these few days, only letting myself a spoonful or two a day, but boy, was I ready to start baking them when the time came. Since the recipe left me with a ton of dough, I had to make about 4 batches in the oven, which yielded about 24 huge cookies. For a few hints on the baking process, my dough balls were about the size of golf balls and I baked them at 350 degrees for 15 minutes before letting them cool on the pan for about 8 minutes.

When I finally allowed myself to eat one of my finished cookies, I was blown away by the flavor. They were so buttery, gooey, and had the perfect texture. Also, the sea salt made the biggest difference in flavor. I put a heavy sprinkle on them before baking and it really balanced out the sweet flavors. These cookies were AMAZING. After sharing the rest with my family and friends, I was told multiple times to make them again because of how delicious they were. I promised I would, and now I am currently planning the perfect weekend to get my mixer out again.

Find the detailed recipe here for the BEST CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES EVER…

IMG_7384

IMG_7526

IMG_7525

YUM.

Leave a Reply

