My New Food Crush…

In honor of the many Sunday brunches probably happening around the world today, I wanted to share with you one of my new food crushes and a classic staple to the fancy brunch meal…smoked salmon.  I initially got excited about this somewhat random ingredient during the last dinner on my spring break Carnival cruise last week.  I ordered the sushi appetizer because I was craving it all week and finally able to fill the growing void in my stomach for some yummy raw fish and wasabi.  When the appetizer came out, I was initially disappointed with the minuscule portion size, as there were only three little rice balls with pieces of smoked salmon and various garnishes on the plate.  However, my disappointment quickly turned around and I was already asking for another round of sushi after cleaning my plate in about 30 seconds.  When the trip was over, all I could think about was how to get my hands on some good smoked salmon so that I could relive the few moments in heaven that I experienced during that last dinner.  Luckily for me, The Fresh Market here in Athens knows me well and the employees were able to point me in the right direction to their smoked salmon selection quicker than you can say sashimi.

I thoroughly enjoyed my salmon all week, but I was quite disappointed this morning when I realized that I polished off the last slice of it yesterday and wasn’t able to make an impressive brunch with it.  However, all is well because I’m sure that I’ll be back to The Fresh Market in no time with another package of salmon in my hands when I leave.  I’m only hoping that this food crush of mine turns out to be short-term because my wallet may end up running dry before my mouth does…

If you’re already a fan of smoked salmon or haven’t even had it before and want to try it out, take a look at these yummy recipes with smoked salmon that I’ve provided right below.  It can truly be a great salty snack or meal complement that will give you a boost of omega 3’s and some brain power at the same time!

1. Smoked Salmon Cucumber Wraps

Image

2. Smoked Salmon Avocado Toast

Image

3. Smoked Salmon Avocado Salad

Image

4. Poached Egg, Avocado, and Smoked Salmon on English Muffin

Image5. My Own Creation: The Power Breakfast

Image

 I hope these recipes and mouthwatering photos gave you some inspiration for your own Sunday brunch- have a great day everyone!

Leave a comment